My method of mounting Blue Crabs w/ paint schedule
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 18, 2019, 10:02:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1794012 Posts in 224167 Topics by 49577 Members
Latest Member: SaraJean
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Tutorials  |  Topic: My method of mounting Blue Crabs w/ paint schedule « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Print
Author Topic: My method of mounting Blue Crabs w/ paint schedule  (Read 27117 times)
George Roof
Platinum Member

The older I get, the better I was.

WWW Email
« on: July 11, 2010, 03:17:41 PM »

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been doing blue crabs for over 20 years and I've never had this urge to make a living doing them. Few people are willing to pay what  I charge. It's the finishing that takes time and it's taken me almost 15 years to get a paint schedule down to where I feel comfortable with it.

I never crack a shell.  When I get them alive, they go in the freezer for a day.  Usually they're already dead, so I contact glue two pieces of cardboard together.  I sit down with the crab and about a half pint of Touchstone 4in1 injection fluid and an insulin syringe.  Every joing ot every leg is injected.  The body cavity geta almost half the fluid until it seeps out. With my magnifier I open the mouth parts, put a drop or two of superglue insided and carefully set the parts back in place.