Bondo ears for beginers
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 24, 2014, 10:13:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1625272 Posts in 192470 Topics by 43494 Members
Latest Member: fishmicon
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Tutorials  |  Topic: Bondo ears for beginers « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 Print
Author Topic: Bondo ears for beginers  (Read 34264 times)
tazzymoto
Platinum Member

« on: January 25, 2008, 04:08:49 PM »

Here's my method for bondo ears, Ive been using this method for 14 years, and it works well for me i do all my mounts with bondo from antelope to whitetails, even African. To start make sure your ears are turned all the way to the edge, you'll know when you get there you'll have a few holes to sew. Make sure you clean with thinner or acetone to remove all the oil.

tazzymoto
Platinum Member

« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 04:14:15 PM »

Now i like to ruff up the cartilage. then clean again. scrub with paper towel. mix resin and bondo 50/50 for best results.

tazzymoto
Platinum Member

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 04:19:02 PM »

Now catalize bondo resin mixture, stir well, Pull apart fiberglass mat. cut with scissors.

tazzymoto
Platinum Member

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2008, 04:22:53 PM »

mix well and seperate in two . make a pocket in the ear  and put half in each ear, make sure the mix gets all the way to the tip , this will help eliminate air pockets.

tazzymoto
Platinum Member

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 04:28:09 PM »

hang the ears over the edge of the table. Work out the air and thin the ears, make sure you work on them until the bondo starts to kick. then you can thin the edge of the ears. keep working them, nad grooming with a brush.

Jared Adams
Platinum Member

« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 04:35:56 PM »

Very nice bondo work!! Great tutorial.Jared