Staining with Potassium Permanganate (How to w/pics)
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 23, 2019, 07:50:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1794012 Posts in 224167 Topics by 49577 Members
Latest Member: SaraJean
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Tutorials  |  Topic: Staining with Potassium Permanganate (How to w/pics) « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: Staining with Potassium Permanganate (How to w/pics)  (Read 37227 times)
Bobbym1232
Platinum Member

WWW Email
« on: March 03, 2008, 11:04:21 PM »

I just got a PM asking about staining antlers with Potassium Permanganate, so I'd thought I'd share with everyone.  Now I'm no expert on the subject but this has worked for me so far and I use it on everything from sheds to tine repairs.

First off just follow the directions that come with the powder and wear gloves throughout the entire process.
Take about 1 teaspoon (or more depending on the area that needs staining) of powder and mix with water or alcohol.  I've used both, but I get better results using over the counter rubbing alcohol.  I just pour enough in to fully dissolve the stain.  ***You first timers will be hesitant at this step, but don't worry the antlers won't turn purple! :D*** 

The stain is a dark purple color after mixing, but it will be brown when done drying.  You can use a paintbrush to apply the stain, or just about anything that is handy.  I tend to use Q-tips for smaller touch ups on bases or repairs.  One very important thing to keep in mind is that the longer you let the mixture set, the darker the stain becomes!  So whenever you apply a coat to one antler, you need to do the other side at the same time to keep both at the same color stage.