Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
Did you miss your
activation email?
May 26, 2012, 06:51:13 PM
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Search:
Advanced search
Taxidermy Net
Home Page
OLD Forums
Taxidermists
Suppliers
Schools
Workshops
Conventions
Associations
WTC
NTA
UTA
TERF
CWD Alliance
Breakthrough
Reference
McKenzie
WASCO
Van Dyke's
Ken's Corner
Links
Forum Rules
1342524
Posts in
139481
Topics by
36720
Members
Latest Member:
Tahoe-mountain-woman
Taxidermy.Net Forum
|
General Discussions
|
The Taxidermy Industry
| Topic:
Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
« previous
next »
Pages:
[
1
]
Author
Topic: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about???? (Read 805 times)
Todd B
Platinum Member
Location: Fairland, Indiana
Posts: 1865
Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
on:
June 04, 2008, 03:20:32 PM »
I got 2 e-mails today both very similar but different senders. Both mention credit card transactions and both want to do business by e-mail only due to a hearning problem. I will copy and paste them for you to read.
Here is the first one:
Hi,
How are you doing today ?. My name is James Hobbs and am a Hunter, I recently got a Bear which in Black, 110 inches and 200 pounds is already frozen in life size, his lips been split and nose and ears turned which I want to mount... So I'd like to know if do you accept Credit Card and I also have shipping agent that will ship the bear to your location and that will return it back to me when it has finished so you don't have to quote with the shipping charge because I have make the inquiry with them and the shipping charges cost $1500 . So in this case I want you to kindly get back to me with the Mounting price and am ready to pay the 50% up front in advance by my credit card and pay the rest after the job has done.. So let me as soon as possible if my terms of payment (Credit Card) is accepted..
Please Note : I got a Big problem with my ear during the capture of this Bear that is why I want it mount and am sorry to let you know that we can only seal this mounting via email, there wouldn't be any calling between because of my resent hearing ability or else am going to call you with the relay call if required..
Hope to hear from you soon.
Here is the second one:
Hello,
Am interested in a nice taxidermed mounts. Please let me know the one you
have available for sale, the size the price, pictures. I want something from
the big game,small game, full size black bear e.t.c .
I should have call to make my request through phone but i am hearing
impaired. Please get back to me with my request.. I will be paying through
my credit card..
Thanks and hoping to do business with you..
Best Regards.
Has anyone else received anything like this?
Todd B
Report to moderator
Logged
Todd Buchanan
Buck's Pro Mount Taxidermy
9039 N. Punkinvine Rd.
Fairland, IN 46126
(317) 861-4783
www.buckspromounttaxidermy.com
Uncle Harley
Platinum Member
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8680
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #1 on:
June 04, 2008, 03:27:35 PM »
yes Todd it's all over these forums, and they even called Kevin over in brownsburg a couple months ago with the same MO only about a sailfish.
Report to moderator
Logged
Check out my newest reflective eyes!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iHPa8lLLSo
Todd B
Platinum Member
Location: Fairland, Indiana
Posts: 1865
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #2 on:
June 04, 2008, 03:32:07 PM »
All over the forums? Man I wonder how I missed that? Kevin called me about the sailfish one but this one is new to me.
Todd B
Report to moderator
Logged
Todd Buchanan
Buck's Pro Mount Taxidermy
9039 N. Punkinvine Rd.
Fairland, IN 46126
(317) 861-4783
www.buckspromounttaxidermy.com
Uncle Harley
Platinum Member
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8680
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #3 on:
June 04, 2008, 03:39:03 PM »
this is one of many
http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php/topic,88195.0.html
Report to moderator
Logged
Check out my newest reflective eyes!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iHPa8lLLSo
Todd B
Platinum Member
Location: Fairland, Indiana
Posts: 1865
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #4 on:
June 04, 2008, 04:29:42 PM »
I cannot believe I missed all the posts about this. I am always checking the forum. But it sure is the same scam.
Todd B
Report to moderator
Logged
Todd Buchanan
Buck's Pro Mount Taxidermy
9039 N. Punkinvine Rd.
Fairland, IN 46126
(317) 861-4783
www.buckspromounttaxidermy.com
Uncle Harley
Platinum Member
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8680
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #5 on:
June 04, 2008, 04:31:42 PM »
yip you gotta be carefull .........if it walks like a duck and talks like a duck..............
Report to moderator
Logged
Check out my newest reflective eyes!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iHPa8lLLSo
Evelyn Billington (Superpig)
Platinum Member
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 2176
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #6 on:
June 04, 2008, 08:30:00 PM »
yeah I got the exact same email today. I deleted it. Very evident that this email is a scam. The guy can't even speak English. Probably from Nigeria as most of them are. Apparently they are also doing it over the phone. In a way I am glad I don't mess with credit cards.
Report to moderator
Logged
Offering Wholesale services for skulls, reptiles and small mammals
Billington Ranch Taxidermy
Georgetown, TX
254-793-2120
www.billingtonranchtaxidermy.com
www.facebook.com/billingtonranchtaxidermy
taxidermyranch@aol.com
finazducks
Platinum Member
Location: SanBernardino, California
Posts: 1103
EJ is not the only one to have two WASCO Awards
Re: Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
«
Reply #7 on:
June 06, 2008, 01:57:50 PM »
I got it too. I hope I don't get zapped.
Report to moderator
Logged
Pages:
[
1
]
Taxidermy.Net Forum
|
General Discussions
|
The Taxidermy Industry
| Topic:
Is there a credit card scam going on I do not know about????
« previous
next »
Jump to:
Please select a destination:
-----------------------------
Buy, Sell and Trade
-----------------------------
=> Wanted
=> For Sale
=> Buyers and Sellers
-----------------------------
Beginners, Training & Tutorials
-----------------------------
=> Beginners
=> Training
=> Tutorials
-----------------------------
Taxidermy Discussion Categories
-----------------------------
=> Deer and Gameheads
===> Deer & Gamehead Photos
=> Lifesize Mammals
===> Mammal Reference Photos
=> Bird Taxidermy
===> Bird Reference Photos
=> Fish Taxidermy
===> Fish Reference Photos
=> Reptile Taxidermy
===> Reptile Reference Photos
=> Tanning
=> Skulls and Skeletons
=> Molding and Casting
=> Habitat and Exhibit
=> Wildlife Artwork and Crafts
-----------------------------
General Discussions
-----------------------------
=> Forum Operations
=> The Taxidermy Industry
===> Convention Information
===> Taxidermy History