softening salt cured hides, need help!!
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 21, 2014, 12:46:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1616973 Posts in 191100 Topics by 43200 Members
Latest Member: joshcuzzort
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Beginners  |  Topic: softening salt cured hides, need help!! « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: softening salt cured hides, need help!!  (Read 7522 times)
little feather

« on: November 09, 2008, 07:42:35 AM »

I am new at this and I need help.  How do I soften stiff salt cured hides?  What is the best yet easiest way from start to finish for a beginner, amature only, to produce soft hair on hide.  I am doing these for Native American craft projects.
Should I use something other than salt to save the hide with the hair?  If so, what?
Does anyone know the Native way to do this, and don't mention chewing, that aint happening.  My ancestors did this with no chemicals, they didn't have them, and managed to produce beautiful and well preserved hides.  There has got to be, in this day and time with all of the technology that we have, a simplified way to do this.  Frankly, I don't want to use any dangerous chemicals and I'm not familiar with the terms pickle, etc., what does that mean?  Please remember, I'm new, wet behind the ears, at this, so if you would, instead of saying pickle tell me what pickle is, or how to make the pickle solution.  The same with brine, I don't know that either.  I'm quiet a simple country girl, old country girl, and fairly small, but pretty much pure country, with this exception, my daughter says I'm like a mountain man, or at least my shed and barn make her think so, hey I scrap nothing, if it can be used I keep it, even the smallest of bones or a square inch of hair.