Soft Taxidermy
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2014, 11:18:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1573237 Posts in 184673 Topics by 42026 Members
Latest Member: Largeteau143
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Beginners  |  Topic: Soft Taxidermy « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Print
Author Topic: Soft Taxidermy  (Read 7473 times)
Belladine

« on: August 05, 2009, 04:15:57 AM »

I am completely new to taxidermy, and I though I'd try my hand at soft taxidermy. The problem is that I noticed that there is a lack of information on this particular form of taxidermy, I'm wondering if anyone knows of a tutorial? Or if someone could be a mentor? I need to know the tools and supplies involved, and where I can buy quality pelts from.

Sorry if this seems scatterbrained, it's very late here!  :P
Redwolf
Platinum Member

« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2009, 06:25:01 AM »

I'm not sure if when you say  "soft" you are talking about what they are calling "plush" ??? But if you are this should help.
Contact leopardpaws, she can help you.
http://www.taxidermy.net/forum/index.php/topic,161042.0.html

Everyone has an opinion........
Hilary B.
Platinum Member

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2009, 07:22:52 AM »

I hate to sound blunt or rude in saying this, but I'm going to be honest...I'm getting tired or people coming on this forum from DeviantArt asking about the taxidermy plushes.

First of all, Binx390 is the one that created them. So contact her about them.

Second, I really think people need to read and learn about TRADITIONAL taxidermy BEFORE trying to make the "plushes". The plushes are nice, but they aren't really a respectable form of taxidermy (in my opinion) and I've made and sold them before. Essentially, you're making a stuffed animal out of a pelt, I don't really consider it "mounting".