Saftee Acid
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 25, 2014, 12:44:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1618088 Posts in 191245 Topics by 43230 Members
Latest Member: heatherpatton
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Taxidermy Discussion Categories  |  Tanning  |  Topic: Saftee Acid « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: Saftee Acid  (Read 7149 times)
broadhead

« on: September 19, 2006, 11:13:21 PM »

Hey I just want to warn anyone out there using Saftee Acid they may want to Stop!! :-X  I have been doing Taxidermy for over 12 years and have competed in competitions winning a couple of 1st places.  So I consider myself to be at least average.  With that being said I have used several different methods over the years and had good and fair success with all of them.  For the first time 2 weeks ago I decided to use this "SAftee Acid".  I mounted 3 heads and all three the hair slipped, slipped badly.  The first I chalked up to something maybe I did wrong, although it is pretty straight forward.  The second and third I watched like a hawk.   I even Called McKenzie and talked with them.  I watched the PH 3-4 times daily and it never rose above 1.5 on the other hides.  I can tell you that I did everything to a TEE and I even used different water thinking that may have had something to do with it.  I am seriously warning anyone using this Saftee Acid to stop or reconsider it.  I have pictures if anyone wants to see.  I am still talking with McKenzie about the problem.  I also have a friend who works for McKenzie and sculpts forms and he also is a taxidermist.  He has won more ribbons than I and is an excellent taxidermist.  He himself told me he tried it (Saftee Acid) and had the same problems I did and the heads that did not slip when grooming them the hair was extremely loose and came out to the touch and he told me he stopped using it