Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 29, 2014, 12:39:25 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1597354 Posts in 188305 Topics by 42660 Members
Latest Member: MWCT
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Taxidermy Discussion Categories  |  Deer and Gameheads  |  Topic: Help with deer form « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: Help with deer form  (Read 3431 times)
Cha_Lo
Bronze Member

« on: June 14, 2012, 10:40:19 AM »

Hey all, I'm new to taxidermy and I've mounted three deer now and getting better with each one. I ordered this blacktail form from Research and noticed a few odd things about it. First of all the right nostril looks like it didn't pull out of the mold right as a big chunk of it is missing and the wooden back plain isn't the exact size of the form. My previous two forms I ordered from McKenzie and they were really nice forms without these problems. I guess I can just repair the nose area and in regards to the back I could just pull the hide all the way over and staple to the wood, if I have enough hide. Or should I just call Research Manikin and have a new one shipped. Just wondering if these are minor problems. Thanks.

Nose

back
Dakota Hills
Gold Member

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2012, 11:26:17 AM »

Once in a while you will get a form in with problems.  I don't think I would bother sending it back. The nose area can be easily repaired with clay. Then take a piece of 1/4" plywood and set the base of the form on it and trace around it with a pencil. When you get to the point while mounting,that you can see you may not have enough hide to pull that far in,,, stop and cut out the pattern you traced. Then place it on the back and attach with screws. Then you can staple all the way to the edge.  Or you could attach the plywood,right from the start!!
DaveLemons
Silver Member

davestaxidermystudio.com