Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2014, 07:59:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1610081 Posts in 190063 Topics by 43012 Members
Latest Member: thayn61
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Beginners  |  Topic: Which Hide Paste to Use « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Which Hide Paste to Use  (Read 1905 times)
Kenny
Bronze Member

« on: October 13, 2006, 05:46:35 PM »

I've already done a search on this subject and found that Buckeye Supreme has been recommended more than most of the others.  I also seen where McKenzie has been recommended by several well known taxis.  What I did not find anywhere was the mention of a dry hide paste, i.e. Sallie Dahmes hide paste, nor did I find anything on Polytranspar or Van Dyke's Brands.  Have anyone used these and what were the results. Obviously I am a beginner, I have used one of the mentioned with good results, but if I am missing something I might not know it.  Thanks for any input.

Marathon Freak
EJ
Platinum Member

Proud Member of: Unaffiliated, Free Agent

« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2006, 06:24:20 PM »

If you're using a paste now that you get good results with why worry? When I was in taxidermy school we used the dry paste that McKenzie's sells. You mix it with water and it's ready to use. It worked fine but then someone said you've got to try Buckeye and so I did. Liked it used it until McKenzie's came out with their new paste. It's the first paste I have really seen a difference in. If you have a well shaved hide and there is a detail in the form that you don't want to show you had better fill it clay or something because McKenzie paste will suck it into it! I know some don't like it but I swear by the stuff.

Dean
Platinum Member

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2006, 07:15:45 PM »