Saving for later
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 25, 2014, 04:54:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1625567 Posts in 192532 Topics by 43499 Members
Latest Member: Johnnyboy
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Beginners, Training & Tutorials  |  Beginners  |  Topic: Saving for later « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Saving for later  (Read 3569 times)
Coot2000

« on: October 22, 2006, 11:06:20 PM »

I am just beginning and have been working on some birds.  I find that I cannot always finish the skinning, defatting, and mounting the same evening.  I become fatigued and should wait until the next day but have been afraid the skin will not keep.  How do I properly prepare them to keep overnight until I can finish?  What is the maximum time for storage at this point?
elkhunter1313
Platinum Member

« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2006, 12:08:48 AM »

On most birds Borax helps with the defatting and such..Borax also serves as a good "keeper" of bird skins
The standard 20 Mule team Borax laundary powder (unscented) will work.

King of Krowtann: 10 year user and still going strong!!!
blacktailer

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2006, 11:14:53 AM »

I dont like using borax to keep overnigt. Put it in the fridge, it will be fine make sure it is bagged so it does not dry out. Dont use borax until you are ready to mount it or else the skin will start to dry out and get stiff befor you want it to. I have never had a problem with putting a bird skin in the fridge overnight maybe smeone else can argue differently though.
Cole
Platinum Member

Amateur Taxidermist

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2006, 03:50:18 PM »

fridge is fine, I've done it more than once.

Cole Cruickshank
Cameron, MO 64429
Becky P
Platinum Member

One must believe the glass is half full.

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2006, 08:27:35 PM »