Fleshing a rabbit
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 25, 2014, 10:34:36 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
1618076 Posts in 191242 Topics by 43230 Members
Latest Member: heatherpatton
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Taxidermy.Net Forum  |  Taxidermy Discussion Categories  |  Lifesize Mammals  |  Topic: Fleshing a rabbit « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Fleshing a rabbit  (Read 1164 times)
WillinghamsTaxidermy
Platinum Member

« on: April 12, 2008, 09:57:36 AM »

Last week sometime I found a road kill cottontail and decided to mount it, since I've never done a rabbit before. I got it skinned and was surprised at how thin and delicate the skin was. I cut SO many holes in the thing just skinning it!  I was wondering how I should go about fleshing it, I really don't want to damage it any more. I don't have a fleshing machine, so thats out of the question. Any ideas?

Thanks
"Mink"

Taxidermist - Furrier - Trapper
www.WillinghamsTaxidermy.com
Codi
Platinum Member

« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2008, 09:59:21 AM »

If there is any flesh on it just pinch it off with your fingernails. All of the rabbits I have skinned never had much flesh on them after skinning. Just pinch it and peel it off, like when you are removing ear cartilage.

Low T
Platinum Member

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2008, 10:05:15 AM »

Yes, as Codi said, peel it off, using a fleshing machine on a rabbit is overkill, kind of like getting a drink out of a fire hydrant.

And no, I do not own a Tshirt that has a wolf or unicorn on it.
There is no such thing as gun control, only people control.
Stop Rot,,use it or lose it.
Rest well our friend, you are missed.
WillinghamsTaxidermy
Platinum Member

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2008, 01:04:46 PM »