What NOT to use!

Submitted by Jason Spradlin on 12/21/01. ( jassprad@att.net ) 12.93.72.231

I was washing a deer hide right before mounting it today,and was out of Downey so we have some of this fabric softerner called "Nice and fluffy"I added a shot to the tub and started washing it.Then I noticed a small bald spot behind the ear didnt think much of it,So I set the ears and sewd holes then I put the hide on the form and its face WAS COMPLETELY BALD!It diffently made its hair nice and fluffy!In piles.So I wouldnt recommend using it to soften your hide!The fellow brought me antlers with no hide,I had an extra hide so the hide was mine.But now i need another hide.Anybody have this happen before.Im not a beginner,but thought it might help someone!

Return to Beginners Taxidermy Category Menu

What makes you think it was fabric softner...

This response submitted by Gordon C. on 12/21/01. ( ) 142.177.7.219

because I use it all the time and no problem like your having. How did you prep skin before wash? Fabric softer in water and a little salt gets to 4ph only. "Nice and Fluffy" should not be the problem! Would like to know how you prepared cape though?

Ditto

This response submitted by Frank E. Kotula on 12/22/01. ( basswtrout@aol.com ) 172.138.126.130

I've used that one and many others and never had a problem. The problem lies in the way the cape was handled.

Thats the only thing that was different

This response submitted by jason on 12/22/01. ( ) 12.93.72.164

I fleshed it,salted it twice,shaved it,cream tanned it.Ive done around 30 deer this way and never had slippage like that.Is wasnt mild slippage it was HUGE.When i killed that deer it was extremely warm,and I as I worked the skin It had a wet dog oder.Maybe it had spoiled or something!I put in the freezer within 24 hrs of taken the deer though.Im not to sure what happened but the only thing that was different was the nice and fluffy

Pickling might of helped