Itchy Rash

Submitted by Byrd on 2/1/02. ( libertyflh@webtv.net ) 209.240.222.130

i am new to taxidermy. And have recently developed an itch with a leathery rash to boot. I'm a little leary of discussing it with friends and family because of where it's at. I'm a happily married man of ten years who is faithful to his wife and have never had this problem until recently. i was just wondering if maybe the chemicals might be causing it. i use water base paints, apoxie sculpt, fish tanner, and hide paste. have recently started washing my hands more and fighting off the urge to readjust while working on my fish. it seems to help. Anyway just wondering if this is common and if there are any other over the counter treatments i should try.

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Gloves?

This response submitted by Duckgog on 2/1/02. ( ) 63.172.118.19

Try using milking gloves or the likes. If there is a Fleet Farm or a Farm and Fleet, they will surely have them. Lots of theses chemicals have a bit of latex in them, and lots of people are allergic to it. Most milking gloves for use on dairy farms, use a different material in them. I like them better because they are a heck of a lot nicer than surgical gloves and tougher too. They run about $10 a hundered. If that don't help, you might as well go out cattin around, cause your wife will surely think you are! But seriously, it really could be latex.

Scabies?

This response submitted by Shawn on 2/1/02. ( alopervet@hotmail.com ) 63.111.176.51

Byrd, if you have you done any mammals, particularly carnivores you could have picked up the mange mite Sarcoptes scabeii (scabies). If so you will need to go to an M.D. for Rx. The mite causes mange and actually tunnels under your skin where it causes a nasty reaction. Just a thought. Good luck.

Too late for this, but glove up.

This response submitted by George on 2/1/02. ( georoof@aol.com ) 64.12.96.104