just starting out in taxidermy

Submitted by Barry Smith on 2/8/02. ( klorrae@yellowbananas.com ) 208.20.40.94

I am a beginner in the taxidermy field and was wondering what tool I should use to flesh my capes. I do not want to buy a fleshing wheel at the moment because I want to see if I enjoy mounting animals first. Any suggestions on what tool and where i can purchase is greatly appreciated. Thank You

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Maybe...

This response submitted by b bishop on 2/8/02. ( bishops@newnorth.net ) 209.83.43.4

you should just send your first one out to a tannery or if you dont have a cape you can purchase one and some horns. When I started I tanned my capes and dried them out hard, and then thinned the whole thing down with a 1/2 inch drum sander and a dremmel tool, talk about desprate! I did 2 this way and they turned out great but took all damn day to do.Have fun. Brad

When I got started

This response submitted by Tony on 2/8/02. ( birdman41301@yahoo.com ) 208.159.223.92

Someone told me to use a bench grinder, the guy who told me is my mentor, Steve, he has been using one for 23yrs! he told me, he would get a pro. fleshing machine whenthey sharpen thierselfs, and when they make one that wont cut your fingers off! He can do a cape in about 35 min! I am a beginner myself, I have completed a bobcat, and a fox. It takes some practice, woks better for me after it has been salted for a while, what the heck, you might like it! Hope this helps. use a rough stone, and keep your mouth closed! hehehe

BENCH GRINDER?

This response submitted by George on 2/8/02. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.188.200

And I thought the "Pressure washer" was the dumbest thing I'd heard. Tony, please keep your mentor's name a secret. If a fleshing machine is awaiting an ambush to cleave his finger off, I don't think I want to drive on the same road as he takes.

I'm telling ya

This response submitted by Tony on 2/8/02. ( listed above ) 208.135.164.195