thanks for the help

Submitted by Don on 2/16/02. ( ) 206.74.35.50

The trouble i`m having with the squirrel is getting the hide over the spread out arms and head.I tanned the squirrel hide, the reason i asked about the salt is because if you don`t get salt down in the tail the hair will slip.Am i right about the tail? i`m just wanting to figure this out.Any help will be appreciated.

Return to Beginners Category Menu

squirrel tail

This response submitted by Derek on 2/16/02. ( crochunter@alltel.net ) 166.102.183.141

Don, I'm just a beginner myself but in the archives I got an answer from John Belucci,I just tried it and it worked great,but only if your tanning your squirrel[which I am] I took a piece of string and hot glued it to the end of a small diameter wire and slid it through the skinned out tail,after pulling the string all the way through[leaving plenty of excess on either side of the tail]i cut the string from the wire and that left a wick inside the tail just pour the salt down the opening by the anal cut,slide the string back and forth till you have salt coming out the tip of the tail.I left the string in for the acid bath also to wick that solution into the tail.If you dont understand what I mean you can e-mail me or look in the archives undersquirrel tails I think thats where I found it.good luck .Derek

squirrel tail

This response submitted by Derek on 2/16/02. ( crochunter@alltel.net ) 166.102.183.141