Mule Deer Cape On Whitetail Mannikin?

Submitted by Louie on 2/24/02. ( ) 205.188.208.38

I was wondering if I could put a mule deer cape and antlers on a whitetail mannikin? Would it look like a mule deer still or just look like a retarded deer? I was wondering because I can't find the mule deer mannikin I want and I have no experience at all with altering mannikins much less taxidermy?

Return to Beginners Category Menu

You're not looking hard enough!

This response submitted by Big Al on 2/24/02. ( ) 152.163.188.40

There's plenty of suppliers out there to find that mulie!

Sure Am

This response submitted by Louie on 2/24/02. ( ) 205.188.208.5

Im looking for a mule deer that is fighting and all I find is whitetails.

Change out the heads

This response submitted by Bruce Norton on 2/24/02. ( ) 209.83.89.250

The facial features on mule deer are much different than a whitetail. You can probably get away with buying a mule deer change out head and putting it on the whitetail fighting forms. The brisket area is also different on a mule deer form, but you can still make it work. Good Luck!

Alter the form

This response submitted by Don on 2/24/02. ( wildart@attbi.com ) 12.230.249.215

or...learn to. Not that hard to do and eventually you will have to if your in this business long enough.

You think

This response submitted by Elmer on 2/25/02. ( Topstaxidermy@aol.com ) 205.188.209.51