I want to cover a bass guitar with squirrel fur

Submitted by Skippii on 11/10/2002. ( ) 134.126.197.163

I've never done any skinning or anything before--just a little hunting, but I'm primarily a bassist. I wanted to refinish one of my basses, but then the idea occured to me that squirrels are in season, and I could coat it with squirrel fur, and maybe a skunk stripe down the back. Would this be possible to do? Is it a good idea? Would I be able to dry the skins out and get them to stick to the wood without them going rotten? Is it hard to skin an squirrel/skunk? How many animals would I have to kill to cover it? How would I get the skins to look good next to each other, so that it is a one nice even coat, instead of a bunch of pelts together? Do I connect them first (Sew them or what?) or do I just glue them on close to each other?
I know that it's a lot of questions, and I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I don't know where else to go, so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks, Skippii

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Well Skippi

This response submitted by Oddball on 11/10/2002. ( Hoggrower@ ) 216.208.65.84

You never said if you were using it on a Fender, or Richenbacher-sp? As far as skinning is concerned, look in the ARCHIVE's. If you are truly up to this insane feat, you will probably have to shoot a little more than your limit. Tan all your hide's, then use a good epoxy to glue them on.As far as making it look good, well, the ball is in your court on that. If you have the tenacity to sew squirrel skin's, you go right ahead and do it! Oddball

It'll be a 1970's Peavey USA T-40

This response submitted by Skippii on 11/11/2002. ( ) 134.126.197.163

...because that's the cheapest bass I have, and I don't want to risk messing up my other ones.
I read a bit of the archives, but I find them a little difficult to understand, because I really don't understand most of the words. I don't even know what tanning is, or dry preserve, or anything.