Working for a taxidermist...How do I get paid

Submitted by Jim on 02/12/2004. ( ) 209.221.54.162

I may have a job working with another taxidermist in his shop. I have mounted a few things and have a pretty good idea what I'm doing.How would I get paid? Would it be a percentage of each job, or maybe a flat fee for each one,or maybe like sublabor? How does one go about working out the details? Thanks very much in advance.

Return to Beginners Category Menu

hourly rate

This response submitted by greg f on 02/12/2004. ( ) 65.174.66.2

Jim, my day job is Human Resource Manager. I'm sure most taxis wouldn't worry about this, but like any employer your compensation should comply with wage and hour laws. The safest & simplest way would be to egree upon an hourly rate.

Can be on production.

This response submitted by John C on 02/12/2004. ( ) 66.233.157.155

Either way hourly if yo are in a apprenticeship or Percentage of the mount is you are competent.

I'd never pay hourly wages

This response submitted by George on 02/12/2004. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.209.20

Too many "helpers" take twice the time of a competent individual. I'd pay only piecemeal prices and production work prices. If it took you 3 days to mount a squirrel, you'd still only get a fraction of the fee I was to receive.

1099 form

This response submitted by Robert B on 02/12/2004. ( ) 152.163.252.194

sub contracting is on a 1099 form for the irs the rules are you make your own hours and recieve pay based on each peice you do I pay 20 for a deer cape head skinned fleshed and turned ready to tan and it works in to 10 dollars an hour and better when the subcontracter knows what he is doing but I cant afford to take time to teach him and pay him hourly Im just starting out and it seem to be working ok so far

easy answer

This response submitted by Bill Yox on 02/12/2004. ( ) 66.133.132.254