Just getting started - Perch

Submitted by RB on 02/16/2004. ( ) 216.161.238.213

I'm a beginner and would like to try taxidermy. My problem is that it's the dead of winter up here so the only species available to me right now are fish caught through the ice (I didn't save any birds or deer from the fall). I've got some nice perch pushing two pounds that I've saved, but understand that due to painting (I don't have an airbrush and am, again, a beginner) that fish are definitely not the easiest thing to start with. Should I wait until I can find some small game or go ahead with giving the perch a try and just see how far I can get until it comes to the painting? From some books I've read, it looks like my first step is to thoroughly skin the fish and then soak them in a borax solution, then let them dry and then fit them to a manikin or foam mold, which I'd have to purchase somewhere on the Internet or something. Next, I'd have to paint and then lacquer the fish. Just looking to get off on the right foot.

One of the solutions I was looking at used borax and formaldehyde, but I'm not finding a place to purchase formaldehyde so I think I'll try a solution I saw on one of these forums using borax and a cleaning solvent called Green Clean.

Thanks for any help,

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Start With The Perch

This response submitted by Coyote on 02/16/2004. ( coyote@wideopenwest,com ) 69.14.140.92