Hair Slippage

Submitted by Greg Christensen on 02/19/2004 at 21:17. ( cbcr@netins.net ) 192.234.159.5

I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I'm mounting my first whitetails, and have encountered some problems in the tanning process.After skinning these deer I froze the hides until I got all of my supplies (about two weeks) I took both hides out and thawed them, and then fleshed them both on the same day.After fleshing I salted, drained, and resalted.I then rinsed, washed, rinsed (all in cool water)and then pickled them using Van Dykes pickling crystals for three days.After the pickle, I nuetralized them, dried the hair, and tanned them with liqua-tan.I let them both dry for 8 or 9 days.I relaxed the first hide for two hours(cool water and dawn)and began to stretch it.This is when I noticed the first hair slippage,not just a little, but almost in sheets.It appears that the layer of skin holding the hair is coming off as well. This only occurred on the neck down by the brisket, and on the face across the nose and at the cornern of one eye.On the eye(inside corner towards the nose)the hair is still there, but the dark skin is gone.It almost seems as though it blistered and rubbed off.I rlaxed the second hide the same way, with no problems. I know this is long winded, but I wanted to be as thorough as possible. Thanks in advance for your help.

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Three possible problems.............

This response submitted by Mike B. on 02/19/2004 at 21:55. ( ) 64.118.103.175