Wanting to Learn Taxidermy...

Submitted by Aaron on 9/28/04 at 11:00 PM. ( avboswell@bresnan.net ) 69.145.121.5

I have been interested in taxidermy for several years but have never taken the plunge. I have looked at many different books and videos for beginning taxidermists.

Which books and videos are reputable?

Thanks

Return to Beginners Category Menu

video

This response submitted by Drew on 9/28/04 at 11:59 PM. ( ) 140.226.180.247

I think "Whitetail Mounting Basics" by McKenzie is a good video. But...my opinion is, most videos are only really helpful if you already have some background knowledge. I paid a professional to work with me and teach me to do a shoulder mount. I have progressed from there. You have to be willing to pay for a taxidermy education just like anything else.

The WASCO course is a start.

This response submitted by Todd B on 9/29/04 at 12:11 AM. ( ) 4.224.159.228

I started with the Northwestern School of Taxidermy. That was 22 years ago. I graduated from that and went to the Breakthrough Manuals + videos. That was a big help there and the thing that really got me too start learning was joining my state association. Although hands on will help you learn faster it is not a neccessity to becoming a good taxidermsist. A willingness to try and strive to learn more and do better is the key to success. I had no background and taught myself for the most part. I also made alot of friends in my state association and they were willing to teach me some tips also. So go for it, give it a try.

Todd B

Check local college

This response submitted by Brandon W on 10/5/04 at 1:34 PM. ( bgwebster327@hotmail.com ) 65.120.174.96