I'm a Failure

Submitted by Andy Storm on 9/21/04 at 5:16 PM. ( ) 66.59.120.31

I got my results back from my PA taxidermy exam. I passed the written part, but they failed all five specimens I took.I'm usually hard on myself, but I and other people said my mounts looked good, including other taxidermists.I'm self taught, so I've been learning the hard way.Are there any excellent videos out there for doing competition mounting? I have McKenzie's Dennis Behn mounting whitetails video, which is very good. No where in the video does he show using epoxy clay to blend the septum into the nose skin like my judges said I should've done.I used the speed septum just as Mr. Behn had shown.I know without you seeing my work it's easy to think it's junk.I guess I have alot of room for improvement, but I thought I'd have a few mounts that would pass.I suck I guesss.I plan on joining the association and competing.But in the mean time what videos I could learn some comp. techniques? Thanks

Return to Beginners Category Menu

i passed this time

This response submitted by ice on 9/21/04 at 5:27 PM. ( ) 209.23.201.236

i passed the state test this time don't be hard on your self just keep working on it and use lots of refence photos i'm sure you will do better next time.. like you i failed in apirl when i just got out of school so they want to see great looking mounts and they will not pass you unless the mounts are as real looking as the live animal.. keep trying never give up
ice

Here is your problem

This response submitted by John C on 9/21/04 at 7:55 PM. ( ) 66.233.156.237

"but I and other people said my mounts looked good, including other taxidermists"

If the taxidermist you ask dont know what quality looks like thats the problem.

I would think you beeing relativly inexperienced could not pass the test the first time and maybe not the second time.

The people around you that said they look good are not judges and dont know what to look for.