? alligator mount Help!

Submitted by Ed on 3/21/05 at 3:49 PM. ( edtaxidermy@wmconnect.com ) 64.12.116.204

HELP need some advice on weither to take on a gator job open mouth 7'3' Coustomer wants full body mount. I have never done any reptiles before just birds and mammals mostly.My question is should i send him to somebody else or take the challenge myself?Any advice would be appreciated i hate to turn away work but this one may be a exception.
Thanks ED...

Return to Beginners Category Menu

First, send it to a good tannery

This response submitted by been there on 3/21/05 at 4:09 PM. ( ) 63.227.249.26

The heads with skull are left in when tanning and throughout the process. Then buy a good form. They are not that hard, think of a big fish. If you do warm water fish it will come easy to you. finishing and repairs and then painting them nice are all more time consuming than the actual mounting. TIME consuming is key thinking here. Charge what the big shops do or LOSE MONEY big time.

not to pee in your cornflakes but

This response submitted by wetnwild on 3/21/05 at 5:02 PM. ( voyer1@aol.com ) 24.128.109.191