Beginner with otter skinning and tanning questions

Submitted by Shannon on 12/15/05 at 3:45 AM. ( papersailor@gmail.com ) 71.99.84.72

Hello, I'm a total beginner here and have been scowering the forums archives all day looking up information about skinning and tanning otter. I collected a roadkilled river otter yesterday and would like to *attempt* to salvage the pelt, just to see if I can. From what I've read here otters are not the easiest critters to do for a beginner, so I'm hoping I'm not jumping in completely over my head. I know it's just free roadkill, so I'm not going to be too devastated if things don't turn out, but I'd like to at least try for the learning experience.

I have a ton of questions, so I apoligize in advance if any of them are redundant.

I want to come up with an overall gameplan for this and would like some input about the order and type of procedures to carry out. So far I know I should preferably case skin the pelt, flesh it and 'turn' the ears, eyes, mouth, etc. I'm considering ordering some Stop-Rot to give me some more time to work and to combat any 'iffyness' in the hide from this being a roadkill specimen. I think I have a pretty good idea of what has to be done for turning and fleshing, but I'm curious about what the ideal thickness is for the skin. And I assume this ideal thickness may change depending on what part of the body it is. I'm especially curious about properly fleshing out the footpads and such.

Next thing I'd like to know is what the next step in the process should be. Is it imperative that I salt and dry the hide after fleshing? I read that salting helps to prevent hair slippage, so in my case would this be a good idea?