After Care of A Mount

Submitted by Chad on 10/26/99. ( w_chad@hotmail.com ) 207.87.249.12

As most of you may know by now I am new to this. Just been at it for a few month. But now I got something different to ask. I have just had a few customers so far and they are asking me about what they should do to take care of there mounts after they get them home. I tell them the basic things they should know. I tell them not to clean then hide with anything wet and wipe down the antlers with a damp cloth to remove dust and if needed use a Q-tip to carefully dust and clean the eyes and most of all BE CAREFUL. Anyway, I was thinking of making up a pamlet to give to my custmors that would tell then what to and what not to do in order to take care of there mounts. Does anyone do this already? and what all would be good to put in this pamlet for the customers?

Thanks

Chad (w_chad@hotmail.com)

Return to Beginners Category Menu

Hair Sheen or Protex Mt Care

This response submitted by Mark on 10/26/99. ( knoblochs@worldnet.att.net ) 12.74.75.235

Chad

You or they can take either Protex Mt Care or some Hair sheen
and wipe the entire mount down even the antlers, after they
either blow or vaccume the dust off the mount first. Then
apply one of these to help clean and recondition the mount.

Mark

"Lemon Pledge" ... or the No-Name, Store Brand

This response submitted by John Bellucci on 10/27/99. ( ArtistExpr@aol.com ) 205.188.208.168

Hi Chad,

I'll reprint here, an answer from a question under "Gameheads" that involved restoring the luster to antlers after boiling. It also dealt with using this same product in routine cleaning. This should serve you well in your question here.

What I like to use to "brighten" and restore the luster to deer, elk, caribou, moose, or any antlers, is the Kroger (area supermarket) brand of Lemon Pledge. The store brands tend not to have as much of the wax ingredient as the name brands, making them perfect for our needs.