First Bobwhite Quail

Submitted by Redphoenix on 2/10/01. ( ) 63.14.126.104

I had planned on getting a male bobwhite quail sometime when i found one for a good deal. Well guess what, I finally found one for a reasonable price, and it will be coming soon by UPS. My questions is I have never done anything the size of a quail before. I was going to do a dove one year but never got around to it, because it wasn't that great of one. I have previous experience with waterfowl, so what can I exspect? If I take my time like waterfowl should i do okay? I am planning on using size 1/4" neck material, a newmyer bobwhite head with eyes, newmyer body, and 16 & 18 gauge wire. This will be standing mount and I am used to the T-pin method where you hold the wings with T-pins. What size T-pins should I use? 1 inch? Also I have seen mounts sold in cabelas around christmas time of bobwhites on a round base with some foliage and some kind of dirt on the base. How can I achieve this? That is how i want my mount to look, please give me any advice any tips you can offer.

-Redphoenix

Return to Category Menu

there's a difference

This response submitted by Keith on 2/11/01. ( kawink2000@yahoo.com ) 216.111.118.4

between waterfowl and quail handle the quail every careful the feathers drop every easily ,also I try to skin wash tumble and mount all in one day the skin is very thin and tears kinda easy and is diffuclt to sew, I use small needle and tread and small stitches I have only done a few and so far have not achieved one that I am happy with, so next week I am going to try try again let me know if I can be of more help, Keith

Redphoenix

This response submitted by M.T. on 2/11/01. ( ) 198.111.209.103