Turkey Rug?

Submitted by Shannon on 7/1/01. ( ) 165.189.41.11

I have a turkey that a guy wants me to do like a rug. He gave it to me all skined out from the tail with the wings to were the neck meets the skin. Never done one of these. Were do I start? How do I go at this? Do you use a mating in the back like a bear rug? Thank you for any help and advice.

Return to Category Menu

Well

This response submitted by CUR on 7/1/01. ( WILDART@prodigy.net ) 66.90.178.227

As a wildlife artist, I keep a lot of skins around for reference. Most of the waterfowl skins are mounted flat with one wing folded and one extended. I bring the neckwire out the mouth and form a loop to hang the skin by. Large birds like the turkey are kept flat with only one wing attached for reference.

The anatomy of the bird and the size of the secondary flight feathers would preclude using the skin and feathers that would lie under the wing, I suppose. You might be able to split the neck wattles in order to display them on both sides of the flat skin. The neck pterafiles would have to be coped with, and divided to each side. the breast and flank feathers would not be of much aesthetic use for the mount. I would suppose the wings could be folded a bit to display all flight feathers at the mid point. The rump and tail could be arranged in a typical fan. The end result would be a nice wall rug.

The skin could be pinned down around the egdges as with any other skin, but stretching would probably cause problems with the arrangement of feathering. I would think that after proper treatment and preservation of the skin, a backing material could be sandwiched between the skin and felt and the whole thing sewn together. I have a number of bird skins arranged that way for flat storage to be used when needed for painting or sculpting reference.