De-fatting bird

Submitted by Tom Hall on 5/10/02. ( sthall@telus.net ) 66.183.208.65

I'm just starting out in birds, i got 6 birds skinned out ,but have to remove the fat. Oh yah they are all ducks.When removing the fatty tissue with scissors how good do you have to get it.I would hate to mount the bird, just to have it leak after.I am in the prosses of building my own flesher out of a 1/4 hp.motor but can't seem to find the attachment to go on a 1/2 in. shaft and i know the inside hub on the brush is 1/2 in.What is the part called.If anyone can help thank you very much. Tom Hall

Return to Bird Taxidermy Category Menu

VERY good

This response submitted by George on 5/10/02. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.209.38

All the fat must be removed or somewhere, sometime, grease is going to leak out of the bird. You didn't ask but a 1/4 horsepower motor is going to prove interesting if you find a shaft converter. That's a little too much Dynamite.

let me know

This response submitted by Brian P. on 5/11/02. ( ) 67.210.54.236

Let me know how many of those birds you have left after you use that 1/4 horse wheel on them. I use a 1/25 for most of my small stuff, but I must be a whimp. Keep us informed. Brian

FYI for degreasing

This response submitted by Andrew on 5/11/02. ( ASKmontana@excite.com ) 65.130.49.183