Preparing Study Skins

Submitted by Mike Lanzone on 5/22/02. ( junconuts@aol.com ) 172.156.20.229

Hi all,
I am currently working on study skins and have a few questions. I am a beginner as only have mounted a few larger birds and done around 30-35 study skins, so any help would greatly be appreciated. Here are my questions:

1. I was told that it is better to use liqua-cure on the specimens prior to doing a traditional study skin as they will preserve better.
Is this the best way? I have tried using it and it seems a lot harder, especially to set the skin as the feathers often dry badly and look unnatural. What is the best way to deal with this? Also, if it is necessary to clean a skin should the whole skin be washed or just the soiled part and what is the best thing to use to dry it. I have been using sawdust and or borax. The sawdust seems to be difficult to get out of the feathers and many of the feathers seem to fall out when I wet a specimen. I have been hesitant to use corn meal as it attracts bugs. Am I doing something wrong?

2. Some of the birds upon thawing them in the refrigerator seem like whoever collected them either didn't freeze them right away or were not in the best shape when collected as some smell a little. It seems in some of these the feathers fall out quite easily. At what point are they too far gone to use and what is the best way to prepare ones like this?

3. I was asked to do a sapsucker. I have never done a woodpecker before, Is it hard to mount woodpeckers- as I was under the assumption that a slit on the side of the head was necessary to prepare the eyes and skull portion.

4. I find it difficult sometimes to get the backside of the bird correct. When I pin it to a board to dry the backside feather tracks often seem to be aligned incorrectly even though they seem aligned when I pin it down. Is there a better way to do this to make sure they turn out correct?