touraco feather pigments

Submitted by Adrienne Wilson on 5/3/02. ( ) 128.187.99.205

I am a university student studying the pigmentation of bird feathers, and I had a question about the turacin found in touraco feathers. I understand that turacin is a water soluble pigment, and I wondered how touracos maintain their red coloring in the wild. Has much research been done on this? Can anyone help me with this question?

Return to Bird Taxidermy Category Menu

Good question....

This response submitted by Patrick Rummans on 5/3/02. ( birdspec@lewistown.net ) 206.127.86.23

The turacin your speaking of is located in the primary feathers of the bird only (as far as I know). Like most other birds, the tauraco preens itself and "water-proofs" it's feathers with the oil produced in the gland at the base of the tail. The birds I've mounted didn't lose too much color from just being damp or wet, but mostly when they were washed in soapy water or let soak for some time. In the wild my best guess is that because the wings are folded most of the time, the primaries are protected from the elements - even during a rain. All of this is conjecture on my part and you would do well to contact someone who has them in captivity.

Cheers,

Patrick Rummans

Follow up

This response submitted by Patrick Rummans on 5/3/02. ( birdspec@lewistown.net ) 206.127.86.23

I just found some really interesting information about the pigments in a book I have : Handbook of the Birds of the World Vol. 4. Tauracos actually have 2 and maybe 3 pigments! Of the 23 species, most have one or more of these pigments. It was too long to re-write here, but the book is easy to find and although it did say that only alkali's will remove the Green pigmentation, it didn't really answer the questions you have about how they maintain it in the wild - at least not the small part I read. Good luck on your quest!

Cheers, Patrick

Penny for your thoughts?