Driftwood Care

Submitted by mark on 9/23/99. ( ) 144.51.111.1

I have yet to find a good answer ...Could someone please tell me if I need to "treat" driftwood for my mounts
and does it need sealed. I'm kind of new to this and I don't hear or read much, if anything on this subject. Is there any "kind" that I should or shouldn't use??
Thanks Alot.

Return to Category Menu

Try this..

This response submitted by Jim Tucker on 9/23/99. ( bigjims@wilkshire.net ) 206.68.132.235

Most purchased driftwood is already bugproofed but if I collect it myself I let it dry out in the sun then I enclose it in trash bags and saturate it with bug killer. Then I seal up the bags. I usually do it X 2 before using the wood.

What kind of wood?

This response submitted by John C on 9/23/99. ( ) 204.180.103.34

If its cedar I dought that you will find any bugs. If it be hardwood? You had better bug proof it. I use malithian and permathims. JC

Well John...

This response submitted by Courtney on 9/23/99. ( ) 207.200.50.8

actually I had a big problem with cedar drift wood once. Better
bug-proof it just in case.

driftwood

This response submitted by Rob on 9/24/99. ( ) 204.111.53.234

How about simply freezing any pieces that will fit in the freezer.I usually let the driftwood in the freezer for a couple of days to allow for complete solid freezing.Maybe I'm lucky but never had a problem.The quick change in temperature seems to even kill any eggs also.

Freezing will not work...insecticides can

This response submitted by Mike on 9/24/99. ( pelcarts@aol.com ) 152.163.188.34