Dog became aggressive after a seizure, any advice?

Submitted by Terri on 8/25/06 at 7:46 AM. ( ) 63.252.231.60

This is my first time to post, but I enjoy reading the posts. Last night our three year old English Setter had a seizure. This is her first time to have a seizure. Our friends have her brother and he has also had a seizure. We called the vet and he talked us thru it, it was sure hard to watch. After she was done convulsing she sat up and was frothing at the mouth and then became very aggressive. She was growling,running around the house and bearing her teeth. We sent the kids upstairs because we were so afraid of her. The vet heard her on the phone and said that it was unusual for dogs to become aggressive like that after a seizure. He said it does happen occasionally. It took her about an hour to finally come out of everything and lay down and go to sleep. This morning she is her sweet self. Has anyone else experienced the aggression after a seizure with their dog and what have you done to treat it? We are wondering if she sensed our panic and fear and that we possibly caused her to become more agitated and scared. I also read that sometimes they are blind right after a seizure and maybe we startled her. If anyone has any experience with this we would sure appreciate and thoughts. Our kids are home alone with her after school for a short time and I worry about them being around her if she has another seizure and becomes aggressive. I am also very afraid to leave her in her crate when we aren't home in case she has a seizure. Thanks for any thoughts or advice. Good day to all.

Return to Current Events Category Menu

The Problem probably is...

This response submitted by g on 8/25/06 at 9:21 AM. ( ) 207.200.116.137