Tear Duct

Submitted by Hue on 3/30/01. ( ) 209.240.221.95

What is the best way to do a tear duct the right way, without it opening? I've heard of a lot of different ways like; using epoxy, using clay, pins, etc. Any opinions from you pros out their will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Return to Category Menu

Tear duct

This response submitted by Kevin on 3/30/01. ( ) 208.248.135.33

All you have to do is when you are preparing the hide to be mounted, when going around the tear duct, just shave it paper thin. You will not have much shrinkage if their isn't anything to shrink. Hope this helps. Good Luck

TEAR DUCK(QUACK)

This response submitted by TIM M. on 3/31/01. ( ) 204.136.184.34

Hue Im no pro but try this,it works good for me.First prepare the form by dremmeling the tear duct about a half inch deep and about 5/8 of an inch long but about 3/32 wide. Now flesh your tear duct good. Make it thin.Try not to cut any holes in it. When you mount your deer make sure there is plenty of good glue(epoxy) in the hole in the form and on the outside around the edge of the duct opening.Once you have it mounted counter sink a T-PIN into the duct.Now push the duct closed by pressing it together.Not to tight.Works great.Hope this helps.Good luck.

Pretty Close.

This response submitted by John C on 3/31/01. ( ) 208.44.115.89

I had the same trouble for years, I just did not flesh it thin enough. You should be able to see your finger thru thr skin.

A fleshing beam (mini) can be fashioned to fit the tear ducts. Shaped mine with a Surform shaper and long wood rasp then smoothed up with bondo and red hardner, final coatings were done with fiberglass resins, sanded and polished to a very near perfect finish) .