My skull plate was not remover correctly....

Submitted by Shelbyhunter on 02/03/2004. ( ) 128.163.171.130

It was not cut off in the typical way...Instead of a 110 degree angle, I have a 90 degree angle to work with..can I still drill holes in it or will the shull shatter? What do I need to do to build up the skull plate with less skull to work with?
Thanks

Return to Deer Taxidermy Category Menu

get a video

This response submitted by Gary on 02/03/2004. ( ) 67.136.130.120

Shelbyhunter,

You are asking basic questions here, I strongly urge you to order a video on mounting a whitetail it will explain the basics such as how to measure for form size and cape and form prep it will also show you how to set the horns on the form correctly you will then see that a wood shim or bondo can be used to replace the missing skull cap
once again buy a video and see the process and the steps to take in mounting your deer, have I mentioned that a video would be helpful?

Hope this helps
Gary

Use bondo

This response submitted by Steve on 02/03/2004. ( ) 216.129.231.7

I mount quite a few with too short of a skull plate. After boiling all the meat off, I smear some bondo on the inside of the skull cap, some more on the form. Then I'll place a small handful of wood wool on the inside of the skull cap, mix some more bondo with the wood wool. Place the horns on. Put two or three long screws through the skull plate to keep it from falling off while the bondo hardens. You'll probably need a shim or two to bring things up to the right level. I finish things off with paper mache after the bondo hardens. Hope this helps...Steve

Bondo....

This response submitted by Shelbyhunter on 02/03/2004. ( ) 12.222.219.224

I saw bondo at home depot. Is this the same bondo you all use? Does the wood wool thicken up the Bondo? While drilling, what do I do to prevent the skull from cracking? Also, after setting the antlers for the final time, can I rebuild the meat with clay instead of mache?