Why use the "Y" incision?

Submitted by Mickey on 02/15/2004. ( ) 64.12.96.198

Im new at taxidermy and on my first deer head I used the "y".Since then I just cut strait across from the back of the antlers,cut away from antlers enough to cut the skull plate all the way around the antlers.I tnen rebuild the back of the skull with bondo.Is the "Y" better?

Return to Deer Taxidermy Category Menu

Sounds like you used the 7 cut.

This response submitted by John C on 02/15/2004. ( ) 66.233.157.155

Its up to you and what you like, I know people that can sew a long cut quicker than I can sew a y cut. Just learn to sew and experiemnt to suite your self.

Do...

This response submitted by The Rookie on 02/16/2004. ( NaturesTrophies@aol ) 152.163.252.167

what works for you and looks accurate on the final product! Never question that. Truth- Jeff F.

Do what you feel comfortable with but...

This response submitted by Bill@Real Life on 02/16/2004. ( ) 24.69.255.237

if you note the hair pattern typical on a buck's scalp you will see the forehead patch extends in a V or Y shape back behind the antlers, to the back of the skull. On some bucks this is Very pronounced, on others, not so much. If you use the Y cut you can follow this hair pattern. This makes your stiches easier to hide and you never mess up the pattern and the way this heavier hair lays. Just my thoughts.

thanks

This response submitted by Mickey on 02/16/2004. ( ) 205.188.208.9

Its easier for me to sew the 2 or 3 inches between the antlers than the long "Y" cut down the back

Mickey, you're confused

This response submitted by George on 02/16/2004. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.252.167

No one said the "Y" had a long incision. My "Y's" are probably no longer than your "7" cut. You sound as if you have it confused with a DORSAL CUT hide.

Y Cut

This response submitted by Leslie on 02/16/2004. ( ) 208.180.126.206