My bucks neck was BIGGER than that!

Submitted by J Best on 12/9/05 at 7:01 PM. ( mrjwbest@yahoo.com ) 64.33.143.26

I looked in the archives for this, but no answer.
I haven't had this happen yet, but again, I'm fairly new to taxidermy, and want to be prepared for some common problems I read about in here.
I'm going to start snapping a quick digital picture of neck meat measurements of deer (flexible tape around neck), with the antlers still attached, for proof somewhere down the line for someone that may say that the neck on their deer was "much bigger" than the actual mount.
It would only take a second, but could be very helpful as far as I'm concerned. I'll just snap a picture, print it off the computer, and staple it to the measurement log for each customer.
Just wondering if anyone has done this, or if you all think it may be a waste of time. Thanks

Return to Deer Taxidermy Category Menu

J, it won't work

This response submitted by George on 12/9/05 at 7:08 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.116.67

The guys who complain will claim that the tape measure is cut in the area the picture doesn't show or that you've stretched the tape or the tape's rubber. I keep what I've named as a "Trophy Data Sheet" and each buck that comes into the shop gets measured right then. All data is entered on that sheet as it existed on the unskinned buck along with the hunter's choice of poses and form to be used. When they pick the animal up, it's all there for them to see.

A couple years back, I had a guy bring in a 90 pound yearling forkhorn. When he came to pick it up, he complained that the neck wasn't "all rutted up". I told him that September deer aren't rutted up and a year and a half old buck doesn't have a big neck. He said, "Well, the other guy who used to do my work always mounted them on bigger forms." I asked him why he didn't take his work BACK to this guy and he said, "Cause your's looks more like a real deer". End of conversation.

LOL