Need opinion please

Submitted by Mike on 4/15/06 at 12:29 AM. ( ) 66.156.126.192

I mounted a muledeer for a show.I was pleased with everything except for one area. I build the clay up to much above one eye to much.I can not believe I made such a simple mistake-but I did.At any rate,I decided I would turn the mount on it's side and place a wet paper towel on the area hopeing to rehidrate the skin then re-wet the clay and reshape.The deer was mounted 5 days ago.I keep checking for softness.I worried about slippage.I have never done this before.Am I messing up.please give advice.Thanks in advance.

Return to Deer Taxidermy Category Menu

Need more wet to it

This response submitted by Hogger on 4/15/06 at 4:09 AM. ( ) 72.234.131.148

I think a mere paper towel is going to take forever. Take a hand towel and soak it, place it over the eye and wrap it with plastic wrap or plastic bag so that it's like taped to the head. That should soften it up pretty quick. If the cape was factory tanned and had no loose hair problems, you should be fine in regards to slipping. If you cant get the lump of clay to spread so that it doesnt look excessive, you can get to the clay from the eye opening and swipe some out with a tool and re-do the eye.

I don't know if this helps, but...

This response submitted by Tony J. on 4/16/06 at 12:42 AM. ( ) 208.135.164.242