deer aging

Submitted by larry on 10/6/99. ( ) 205.198.244.174

could somebody please refresh my memory on aging a deer.

thank you

Return to Category Menu

Tooth Wear

This response submitted by George Roof on 10/6/99. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.209.72

Larry,
Describing it won't help much. You need reference materials to gauge the wear of the teeth. Cabela's and a few other suppliers sell a board with jawbones depicting various ages by year. In Leonard Lee Rue's DEER OF NORTH AMERICA, he has pictures that may be of help.

Breakthrough

This response submitted by Lianne on 10/6/99. ( ) 63.25.216.200

Larry,
Summer 1997 issue of Breakthrough has a good article on aging deer by tooth wear.

ageing

This response submitted by craig on 10/7/99. ( ) 139.134.157.113

dont get me wrong but im no expert in ageing deer but teeth wear can be very decieving.for example food plays a big part ie good lush country all year around good teeth. bad drought areas can cause rapid teeth wear. we just had an american bioligist here for two years doing a study on deer,and he aged them by the jaw itself,how i dont know.anyway i might have not helped or some might disagree but its what im aware of.

Good Article on the Web with Photos

This response submitted by Ken Edwards on 10/7/99. ( ken@taxidermy.net ) 209.86.133.210

Click above on "Taxidermy Net Home".
Click on "Related Links"
Scroll down to "HUNTING and FISHING"
Click on "How Old is My Deer?"

Hope this helps.

Just count the points...

This response submitted by Steve on 10/7/99. ( ) 208.235.33.196

...that's what I do. If it doesn't have any, it's probably a newborn.

thank you

This response submitted by larry on 10/7/99. ( ) 205.198.244.172

thank you for your help

Biologist?

This response submitted by George Roof on 10/7/99. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.188.227

Craig,