FIsh eye question

Submitted by Andrew on 02/27/2003. ( ) 207.89.210.160

Gotta ask a question or two here. Im just getting into doing fish and want to know about eyes. I attempted to mount a crappie used fish filler noticed I was a tad rough with the skin and will have to build up some areas due to holes and scale loss. I bought some flex eyes for it suggested by a friend that has used them for some time.
I either dont know how to set them the right way they just looked way to big for eye socket. I trimmed them down and got them set and ofcourse the one on the non-show side looks better of the two.
I then got my Tom Sexton Largemouth Bass video out and noticed he was setting his eyes and then sculpting the rest of the eyeball in.
Is this a better method to learn it just looked easier than fighting with the flex eye to me. Can anyone tell me what they think maybe I just tried to hard with the flex eye?
Thanks all and take care, Andrew

Return to Fish Taxidermy Category Menu

A matter of time

This response submitted by Elmer on 02/27/2003. ( Tops ) 152.163.188.227

Usually the best thing to do is downsize the flex eye because it includes the schlerol band area. Then when mounting your fish use white critter clay in the cheek and eye orbit. Set the eye and let dry. The time matter is a liitle more time in the pit will help your experience with fish.

!@#$#@ Flex Eyes

This response submitted by The Rookie on 02/28/2003. ( NaturesTrophies@aol.com ) 152.163.188.227