Water Acrylic or Lacquer based paints?

Submitted by Paul Fisher on 02/15/2004. ( fishrnutt@new.rr.com ) 65.31.244.86

I am just getting started in fish taxidermy and just completed my first class. I am looking for experienced taxidermists opinion on whether to use water acrylic paints or lacquer based paints. I have not bought any paint yet. Rather than buying both types and finding out which will work better I would like to know which you would prefer. Can you get competition fish mounts using water based paints? I will be using a Paasche VL air brush and painting mainly walleyes and salmon to start out. Thanks in advance for your responses!

Return to Fish Taxidermy Category Menu

Stuff...

This response submitted by Raven on 02/15/2004. ( ) 24.150.166.254

Im not an experienced taxidermist per se, but I am an experienced sculpture painter which is basically the same thing once it gets down to the painting stage. Look at repro fish and you'll see what I mean, no skin involved but painting stays the same. Anyway, I prefer acrylics primarily because I like to avoid solvent based paints. The drying time on acrylics is less meaning that any blending or transition areas you want to do can get a bit trickier. This can be offset by adding extenders to your acrylics. Lacquers stay wet longer so this is far less of a problem. Health issues are well documented with lacquer and other solvent paints. With acrylics be sure to wear a dust mask to keep out particulates and yer ok. Also with acrylics you can safely layer colour upon colour to achieve a lot of cool effects without fear of lifting up underlying colours.

I think a lot of it is just about personal preference - mine happens to be for acrylics *shrugs*

Raven, what are yo using?

This response submitted by JOhn C on 02/15/2004. ( ) 66.233.157.155

Water based take longer to dry. Lacquers are almost dry when they go on, unless you really lay the paint in.