Fish taxidermist needs advice

Submitted by Scott on 4/21/05 at 2:56 PM. ( SEPuckett@webtv.net ) 209.240.205.62

I've been working full time for a local taxidermist for over two years.I've worked extremely hard to improve the detail quality along with just the basic mounting job,like carving most trout/salmon mannikens along with others when needed.The paint is probably the area that has come the farthest through custom schedule and various techniques such as combining airbrushing,finger paints,brushes and just using different paint viscosities,air pressures and angles for certain needed effects.He absolutely loves the work and wanted me to continue experimenting with whatever I need to do.The problem is as the quality has increased the my bank account has decreased We've had some rather intense discussions over the past months about the extra time involved in more detail and finish work.I've explained that I've probably spent as much of my own time going through Breakthroughs an Taxidermy Today along with scanning every archive this site has to offer looking for better methods and tips to help our quality.My reward for the improved quality of work and efforts has been an "atta boy".I'm making a certain percentage on each fish I complete which might work if I was happy doing sub-standard production line work. That I feel would not be right to me or fair to the customer.At this point I feel IF I can't do taxidermy that I'M proud of I'd rather not do it at all.I finally made the decision to leave my current employer to work full time at a wholesale/retail livebait and tackle service which means delivering to bait and tackle shops and resorts within a 100 mile or so radius of my vacation/fishing area.I'm also planning on renting a small retail shop where for now I plan to run (on a part time basis) a fish taxidermy and reproductin business while trying to build a steady customer base.I plan on charging a good price for my work and hope there are enough customers that a