Smallie Reproduction critique needed

Submitted by Pete on 12/29/05 at 12:11 PM. ( petesfam@hotmail.com ) 64.136.27.229

....well, guys, I'm asking for ya to take a look at my first attempt at painting a fish repro. I'm a beginner--I'm a flat-work artist and "hobbiest" taxidermist...Anywho, I used a Wynia blank, water-based acrylics, shiva paintstick scale tipping. My son caught and released this fish and all the photgraphs show a "darker than usual" head/gill plate markings along w/ a more gold/yellow skin tone opposed to "bronzy". I used these reference photos as a guide--no paint schedule. I'd sure appreciate your critique--thank you. http://pknepler.photosite.com/PetesFishReproductions/

Return to Fish Taxidermy Category Menu

Very nice...

This response submitted by marty on 12/29/05 at 12:38 PM. ( ) 24.15.107.136

Usually accomplished flat artists have absolutely no problems painting replicas because we're use to working from a white background. That's a heck of a job for a first fish and a heck of a job even if it weren't a first fish!

Like anything, it's where you live..

This response submitted by tomdes on 12/29/05 at 12:52 PM. ( mapletax@twcny.rr.com ) 148.183.241.15

Pete,

Smallmouths, as with walleyes vary in coloration depending on where your from. I just caught some Fall river smallies back in October that are a medium bass green, they look nothing like what you've painted. And I know in other parts of our state they'll have that nice bronze hue to them, kind of like yours. So getting back to your picture, it looks pretty darn good for a beginner with no aid from a paint schedule. There are a few areas I'd comment on but it's tough to see in the picture to give an accurate critque.. keep up the good work!

Even where you live...

This response submitted by marty on 12/29/05 at 2:15 PM. ( ) 24.15.107.136