Emergency Hide Storage

Submitted by Wags on 8/5/00. ( ) 208.10.221.58

Form too big, even with severe alterations. Need to store hide 2 or 3 days to wait on new form to arrive. Was using dry preservative. Question: Should I rinse cape out and re-salt or should I store cape as is in freezer with dry preservative still on? Measurements were correct, but form was way too muscular.

Return to Category Menu

I am no expert on D.P.

This response submitted by Todd B on 8/5/00. ( trigger@indy.net ) 209.183.86.186

I always tan my capes so I am not positive on this. But I would not
suggest rinsing and resalting them. As you mentioned refreezing them.
That is what I would do if I were in this predicament. I know all of the controversy
here about D.P. vs tanning. But I may get slammed for this but I would suggest
tanning in the future.

Todd B

Storing hide

This response submitted by George Roof on 8/5/00. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.188.225

Wags,
Don't know why salt is even in this equation. DP mostly borax( for bug proofing along with some alum. It is chiefly a dehydrating agent that just allows the hide to dry without rotting. Most users discourage the introduction of salt, period. Simply roll your hide up, hair side out, put in in a paper grocery bag, and refreeze it. In the 2 or 3 days, the available moisture in the skin will freeze and prevent the DP from working. When you're ready, take it out, let thaw, and then stretch it as much as you can. I put both arms up the neck and push against both hands on tanned hides, so DP should be no different.

If you want to hear what a dyed-in-the-wool DP guy has to say, call Touchstone for a catalog and read Mr. Sam's comments about using salt. Their DP is some of the best I've ever used and not nearly as harsh as some on the market.

Salt

This response submitted by Wags on 8/5/00. ( ) 208.10.221.136