Bear questions

Submitted by Mike on 09/16/2002. ( prkguy@aol.com ) 216.148.246.70

I am a beginner and am working on a bear shoulder mount. I was hoping you folks could answer a couple of questions for me. This is my second bear shoulder mount. The first one I tanned at home and had a very difficult time working with the cape because I couldnt shave it properly. However I was pleased with the way it turned out.
This time I would like to send the hide to a tannery. Splitting the ears seems to take an awful lot of time. I have basically just used a sharp knife to turn the ears. Can an ear opener tool be used like what is available for deer or is the knife the best way to go? Also how clean of meat must the hide be before it is salt dried? I have removed the large pieces of meat and fat but there are a couple of areas that have a thin layer of red meat. When I trapped muskrat as a kid I used to see this same type of meat on the pelt after skinning. The fur buyer always told me dont worry about trying to get that off. Is it OK to leave this on the bear hide? Any comments appreciated. Thanks Mike

Return to Gamehead Taxidermy Category Menu

Bears

This response submitted by George on 09/16/2002. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.209.9

Don't use the ear openers unless you want to bust the ears open. Bear ears are tender and your knife method is the best. AS far as meat, all red meat must be removed and all the fat should be taken off. You must get down close to blue skin before you start salting, though I've heard of some guys salting the fat to help in peeling it off. That's quite risky and you could suffer slippage by dawdling around. Get in, get out, and salt quickly.

Use a draw knife

This response submitted by gotum on 09/17/2002. ( ) 216.127.204.56

Try using a draw knife on a fleshing beam the olds ones with a flat plane and ofset handles /---\ always worked well for me when I skin.