sodium sulfat question please

Submitted by kevin on 2/8/05 at 6:04 PM. ( ) 209.142.170.107

I am new at gameheads and not sure if I am doing exactly right? After I skin a deer head I then rough flesh it. I then rub sodium sulfate on the hide and then refridgerate overnight or freeze. I then thaw out the hide but sometimes it is really stiff and dehydrated. I know the sulfate pulls the moisture out but am I overdoing the sulfate process. I then soak in cold water to rehydrate the hide. Then wash, rinse and then straight to the tumbler for drying. Then I do the final fleshing. The hide is really wet going in to the sawdust in the tumbler and causing the sawdust to clod after only 2 deers. Am I doing right? THANKS

Return to Gamehead Taxidermy Category Menu

Kevin, you're about to screw the pooch

This response submitted by George on 2/8/05 at 6:31 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 64.12.116.130

Sodium sulfate is a salt substitute and all that washing, refrigerating after application, and rehydration is just begging for a disaster. I'd suggest you stop for a minute and catch your breath. Read how proper salting and tanning is done before you've already gone too far.

Please buy a Breakthrough manual or a video

This response submitted by Matthew on 2/8/05 at 6:58 PM. ( ) 12.59.56.78

Please seek some vodios on tanning buy a book take a class, Not being rude but you are way off.... YOu will mess all your capes up.

george or mathew

This response submitted by kevin on 2/8/05 at 8:22 PM. ( ) 209.142.170.107

First I want to thank you for your help. I do have some videos but I want to use a spray tan. Ben Mears spray tan is what I have been using. After drying and fleshing I apply the spray and let sit for 30 minutes. Is this still not ok?

Try this......

This response submitted by KBauman on 2/8/05 at 10:01 PM. ( ) 69.152.162.142