Need Advice on Pre-Rut WA Blacktail Form

Submitted by Greg Pennell on 10/4/99. ( gregpennell@uswest.net ) 216.160.81.140

I'm having trouble finding a form for the WA blacktail I shot this bow season. The nose to eye is 6 3/4", but the neck is only 15". Should I buy a larger (neck) form and alter the neck or use a small mule deer form? Any advice from you blacktail experts will be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Greg.

Return to Category Menu

A Good Option

This response submitted by Rod on 10/27/99. ( rs@pacificdesignbuild.com ) 205.188.209.7

Greg,

I have had similar problems. I am only an amateur but I feel very confident in this advice, only because I have gotten great advise from others on this forum and through lengthy phone conversations.

My first bit of advice is to only use a Blacktail form. Research Mannikins has a large selection. I used a mule deer form on one of my large Blacktails and it doesn't look right. It all depends how close you want to resemble the Blacktail specie.

You basically have three options:

1. You could get a short snout form with the proper neck measurement and then lengthen the snout with two-part foam.

2. You could either make or get a change out head with the correct 6 3/4" length and cut the head off of a 15" form and replace it with the change out head.

3. However, this is what I would do. Research Mannikins (1-800-826-0654) has a form on page 55 of catalog 20. The nose measurement is 6 1/2 X 17.

I would take a rasp and carefully remove some of the neck foam evenly all around the form, being sure to keep as much of the original sculpture intent as possible. Try and get the neck close to 15" but a little bigger is probably ok.

Try and stretch the neck portion of the cape to fit the slightly larger form. Now don't go crazy!! You can get away with a little stretch but your best option is to get the form to the proper dimensions. This will be a little easier if you tube cut the cape off of the deer.