More, More on Bonded Ear

Submitted by Rod S on 11/2/99. ( rs@pacificdesignbuild.com ) 152.163.188.2

With all the banter over ears I'm sure to at least get an answer.

I was taught to use earliners with Bondo as the adhiesive. If I use bondo should I stick to only bondo? If I use earliners should I stick to epoxy?

Is 5-min epoxy from the homecenter OK or should I only use only epoxy from the taxidermy catalogs?

I'm only a hobbyist and my few mounts have all drummed in the ears. I have repaired some of them by injecting superglue. I feel that the reason for the drumming is simply because I've tried to shuv too much earliner into the ear.

Now, I'm a structural engineer by trade and have no preconceived methods on how to do ears. But it seems to me that the bondo does not adhere very well. Although I have never used epoxy on ears, it seems like a good idea...I'm just afraid of making a mistake that has no fix with the epoxy, unlike the somewhat reparable bondo ear. Although no one probably really cares, I think the most important step is to provide the slightly undersized earliner to help reduce the shrinkage stress while drying.

Return to Category Menu

Do Not Be Afraid..

This response submitted by Leanna on 11/3/99. ( scardeer@cornernet.com ) 209.98.65.54

Ah...famous last words!! Should I stick to Bondo??? Does Bondo actually "stick"?? Try epoxy for just such an adventure, it works wonders. Is this getting really really repeated? Or is it me?

again

This response submitted by Frank on 11/3/99. ( basswtrout@aol.com ) 152.174.78.110

Here we go again. BONDO is not and I guess I'll repeate it again along with others, BONDO is not an adhesive for leather or plastic ears. It has many other uses in this industry as in attaching forms together etc etc etc.
Now as far as an expoy goes, there are many out there with different setting time. Get the one that is best for you. Contact Newton Supply Company, they have great epoxy for earliners and then some.