Help! Trying to bleach and clean bear skull

Submitted by trish on 11/14/99. ( devoe@clearwater.net ) 206.107.177.134

I am very new to any type of skull preparation. I am trying to finish preparing a bear skull for mounting in my husband's office. I really don't know where to start, the skull is mostly bare except for a few pieces of dried flesh.(Hardly any)
Can I boil this skull without if falling apart? Does houselhold bleach make a skull white?
Does anyone have any good internet sources of information on this subject I could access?
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Trish

Return to Category Menu

To boil or not, hmmmm?

This response submitted by jeff hughes on 11/14/99. ( grimlock@crcwnet.com ) 209.84.209.96

Without a doubt having dermistid beetles do your work is fast and efficient, but unless you want to raise bugs or mail your skull around the country . . .
Boiling in sal soda or I have found going to the grocery store and buying arm and hammer washing soda in the laundry detergent isle,(not baking soda-different stuff)works well.
The skulls can get over cooked so check it every 15 minutes or so and scrape any loose meat off with a dull knife. The boiling will leave the skull a little dry and probably not as durable as the beetle version would be.
Use a toothpick to clean all the blood vessel passages through the jaw and yes the teeth need to come out and be cleaned-sockets too or it will stink :( super glue or epoxy the teeth back in when done.
Pick the brain out with a hooked piece of wire through the spinal cord hole.
I hesitate to use household bleach, I think if left too long the bone may powder, instead hit up the local beaty supply store for 40% volume peroxide cream and powdered bleach or "whitening". Mix them as per the directions on the bleach package and make a toothpaste like substance, BE CAREFUL this stuff is caustic and if slopped on anything . . .