I could use a little advice

Submitted by Mike on 1/4/01. ( ) 152.163.189.130

I've been doing taxidermy part time for about 5 yrs now and just the other day a guy (an aquaintance) called me and said he shot a nice buck and is considering trying to mount it himself. he asked my advice and I told him that there are kits available and that maybe he should try that route. Well then he asked if I could help him or maybe give him some tips and pointers. He also wanted to know if he could look through my catalogs for ordering. Fortunatly our conversation was interrupted and cut short before I could really give him a straight answer. He is going to call me back in a few days.

Now, should I help him in any way I can? After all it would be good P.R. Or should I just give him some phone #s of some supply co.s and tell him to get some catalogs and he's on his own from there?

I'm considering borrowing him a deer mounting video, and my Breakthrough W.T. manual tell him to watch and read and If he still wants to go for it than I will help him as much as I can.

I'm a little afraid this would be shooting myself in the foot, because The word is just starting to get out there about my buisness.

Return to Category Menu

Two schools of thought

This response submitted by John C on 1/4/01. ( ) 208.44.115.33

He could become yourso called competition or a good friend. WHich do you want, should he someday out class you with deer mounts then whos fault would it be? Yours for helping him get started or your for not continuing your taxidermy education?

I have a great friend and buddy, I dont see him very often, I do his fish and if I ever get a bird worth mounting he will do it for me, at one time we were competition in the same town. He has a nack with birds and small mammals. But I can smoke him on fish and deer. We have hunted together and fished together.