Taxidermists websites

Submitted by marty on 1/18/01. ( meshimkus@home.com ) 24.182.135.27

I'm in the process of designing my website with the help of a professional that is a friend. I've been kinda checking the Taxidermists websites listed in the beginning of this forum for ideas on layout, etc. And, other non-taxidermy websites again to gain some knowledge on whats good and bad, etc. I'm no expert nor do I play one on t.v., but I'd have to say that at least 25% of the websites (taxidermy and in general) have either navigational errors or are poorly designed to the point where I get out and move on to the next one! Now when I say poorly designed I'm not talking just gaudy colors or bad layout I'm talking:
1. Heavy duty graphics: some folks have some intense pictures on their opening page that take quite awhile to open. I've got an 800mghz computer with 256 meg of ram along with a cable connection. What do you think potential customers with a dial up modem are going to do?
2. Navigational errors: things were moved and not checked. End result, potential customers are moving on to the next website...
3. Bad color choices or bad graphics: Some websites are difficult to read because of poor choice in colors - not enough contrast. Or, "busy" graphics cloud things. Example: one site has a deer moving across the pages and it obliverates the pricing and other information (I'm not picking on this site - just happened to remember this problem...) behind it...
4. Annoying pop-ups! Especially the ones that don't allow you to hit your back button. I hate these websites and make a note to never visit them again!
5. Music: music is very distracting and takes process time. Again, if a customer is surfin looking for a taxidermist they're already anxious to unload their cash let alone waiting for your website to pop up.